Too many awesome foods! Too little time!

Let’s get on to the eats right away shall we??

AM Pumpkin Blueberry-Lime Oats

imported-photos-00650

I love making my morning oats look different every day. They also taste SO different depending on what yogurt flavor I choose to use! Following yesterday’s trend, I thought it would be interesting to pair the richer and creamy pumpkin flavors with lime yogurt! I topped it all off with frozen blueberries, banana, and studded the top with some Quaker oatmeal squares and a dash of milk.

The verdict? Not bad, but I think I’m going to stick to pumpkin and more neutral yogurt flavors.

***

“Interesting Tastes”

“You definitely have very INTERESTING tastes…” Someone’s exact words when they saw this lunch of mine.

Lunch was 2 sandwiches!!! An appetizer and an entree, because I have been desperately wanting to try the apple & almond butter sandwich combo!!!!

imported-photos-00548

It was delicious, but because I was SO eager to try it, I totally forgot to take a picture of the whole ensemble before stuffing it in my face. I do have a close-up picture of half of my appetizer though!!! This was while my Barney Butter was still melting all over the toast! Yummm.

imported-photos-006552

That was definitely the best part! I liked the crisp apple paired with the smooth creamy-ness of BB as is spills all over the warm rye bread. Next time though, I’d probably microwave the apple so it’s warm and a little softer, then sprinkle some cinnamon on top before assembling.

imported-photos-00662

Here was my main course! It is a BBQ-baked tofu with sun-dried tomato & basil hummus on sprouted rye bread (sandwiched with 1 kirby cubumber). On the side, you see the remenants of a giant green apple I used to make my apple sandwich and POPCHIPS!!!!! (Keep reading for my thoughts!)

imported-photos-00652

I’m featuring my homebaked BBQ tofu that went into the sandwich. Although the tofu tasted good by itself thanks to the lovely honey BBQ sauce it was marinated in, I prefer the tofu in my sandwiches raw so the flavorful hummus can do it’s AWESOME job. :)

***

*PoPChips Time!!!*

The awesome folks over at PopChips sent me two flavors to review along with a lovely hand-written note from Emma, their wonderful PR representative. (Thank you so much for that special touch!!)

imported-photos-00513

Just a little bit of info on PopChips:

  • They are less than half the fat of fried chips
  • They REALLY are popped ! Not fried, nor baked!
  • Come in flavors: original, BBQ, salt & pepper, sea salt & vinegar, & Parmesan garlic
  • Yes, they are made of potatoes
  • 1 serving is ~19-22 chips and has 120 calories with 4g of fat

imported-photos-006611

Here’s the BBQ flavor I had for lunch. Keep in mind…I’m a HUGE bbq fan, so I’m also slightly biased. :P

First Impression: They look a lot like the Genisoy soy crisps but not as flat! I also got a nice little whiff of BBQ smell when I opened the bag, but it was faint. When I took them out of the package, I didn’t notice an over-abundance of seasoning clinging to my fingers (that I sometimes enjoy licking off from the Genisoy’s & BBQ baked lays), but I’m sure less salt and seaoning must be better for me! I feel healthier already!

popchips1

Flavor: Very flavorful indeed – but very much like a “healthy” potato chip! They are seasoned just like your traditional BBQ chips, just without the greasy after-taste. It has a faint rustic smoky flavor with a sublte potato-flavor undertone. I totally get the BBQ flavor without the overly salty (like Lays baked BBQ chips). I’m still ambivalent about whether I like the “lack of” BBQ seasoning to lick them off my fingers, but it really is just personal preference.

Texture: Very crunchy, but not as crisp and “snappy” as regular potato chips. It is definitely NOT airy (like Quaker mini rice cakes), which I really appreciate because you actually feel like you’re eating a chip!

Overall: I definitely enjoyed the flavors and the texture of these chips! PopChips aren’t quite as bad for you as a regular fried potato chip, yet it isn’t QUITE as good for you as soy crisps. I do wish Popchips were even lower in calories, though fat count is good. As a potato chip replacement, PopChips are terrific, but it wasn’t like I was reaching for the bag again after polishing off my serving… Come to the think of it, it’s probably a GREAT thing that this is a non-addictive chip right?

Stay tuned for some salt & peppa PopChips! :)

***

Obviously, stay tuned for Barney Butter winners!!! I’m SO excited!! I finally feel like I’m doing some good for mankind.

