Ann Sather is a famous “Swedish” restaurant chain in Chicago that serves up a huge selection of brunch foods (my favorite!)…and according to its patrons, world-class unforgettable cinnamon rolls.

Nick and I decided to go one morning despite the 3-star average reviews on Yelp (Strangely few stars considering they have supposedly nailed the great American cinnamon roll.) My verdict? I’m so glad we went and satisfied my eggs benedict craving! It may not get all 5 stars, but for the price, the value, and the selection of the food served, this is totally at least a 4 star restaurant! For now, here’s the menu link.

It was noon on a Saturday and we walked into the Belmont restaurant. NO WAIT, No line!!! Woohoo! I get cranky when I have to wait 45 minutes for my brunch (*ahem* Bongo Room)

I didn’t realize that all breakfasts come with two sides of your choice, included in the price of your entrée. The list includes:

  • 2 cinnamon rolls (yes, 2 giant rolls = 1 side dish!)
  • 1 Sweet muffin
  • 2 Biscuits & Honey
  • Toast and Jelly
  • Sliced Tomatoes or Applesauce
  • Fruit Cup
  • Hash Browns

I picked the cinnamon rolls and the fruit cup. Nick picked the cinnamon rolls and the hash browns. Our rolls came out LITERALLY 1 minute after we placed our order. Nice, warm, fluffy, and dripping with goopy frosting.

Tastiness: B+.Warning- I’m a tough critic. The outer edges were a little tougher than I liked and the frosting was RIDICULOUSLY sweet. Too sweet for my liking. However, the inside of the roll was soft, fluffy, and moist. Once some frosting was scraped off the top, I fully enjoyed the cinnamon roll. There are others (like Nick) who think the frosting is the best stuff ever. He didn’t leave a sliver of frosting anywhere on his plate.

The best things about our benedict entrées were that they come with 2 sides of your choice, AND the hollaindaise is served on the side without needing requesting! The sauce was actually pretty nasty looking and clumped up as soon as it started to cool. Ick. Lucky it wasn’t on top of my eggs.

Crab Cake Benedict – $9.95
Poached Eggs, Cajun Crab Cakes and Hollandaise Sauce

Tastiness: I can’t judge since this wasn’t my order, but from what I tasted, although the egg was perfectly cooked with a hot runny yolk and soft egg whites, I absolutely did not enjoy the crab cakes!!! They were dry on the outside and the crab might as well be non-existent. I definitely recommend going to Tavern on Rush and paying $3 more for a REAL crab-stuffed crab cake. This got a B- because Nick didn’t mind it…the flavors were “good.”

Smoked Salmon Benedict – $9.95

Poached Eggs, Norwegian Salmon, Fresh Dill and Hollandaise Sauce

Tastiness: A-. My benedict was perfect. The salmon was warm and the poached eggs were hot with a perfectly cooked runny yolk. The muffin didn’t get soggy because whoever was in the kitchen took the time to drain the eggs and wick extra moisture off the smoked salmon slices before serving. Delicious! There was so much flavor no hollandaise was needed! All it needed was some ketchup. Of course.

RATINGS

Taste: 3.5/5 (my entrée was fabulous and so were the cinnamon rolls)

Originality: 4/5 (the menu is SO huge they have all the classics and much more!)

Plating: 3/5

Value: 4/5 (For a $20, you get a LOT of food)

Service: 4/5 (No complaints at all. They took care of us so well and so promptly I was amazed)

Ann Sather Cafe on Urbanspoon

