Call me late to the party if you wish, but I’ve recently discovered GlassDharma straws after my MD diagnosed me with GERD and ordered smoothies to the diet plan.

Growing up, my dentist has always told me to consume sweet drinks (or even diet soda) through a straw to avoid cavities. After some research on my own, I came up with some tips to share. Some straw 101 if you want to call it that! (Source) Just remember that I’m no professional yet, but I do care a lot about cavities and I do my research!

  1. Positioning of the straw – when you use a straw, make sure to aim the opening to the back of your mouth so the sweet/acidic liquids contact as little “teeth” as possible! This will prevent staining AND cavities!
  2. Don’t swish your drink around your mouth unless it’s water! (Again, staining and cavities)
  3. The type of straw you use matters! Between Plastic, metal, and glass, guess which one creates the least waste? If you said metal and glass, you’d be correct. Now between these two, which one has the potential to cause LEAST teeth sensitivity from a hot/cold beverage? GLASS!!!

When I realized I would be drinking through a straw at least once a day, the shopoholic in me decided I needed to do some shopping/research to find the best straws out there.

I stumbled upon DharmaStraws on several blogs and read a ton of raving reviews on Amazon about them.

I concluded that I needed to test out these straws!

Enter DharmaStraws. A family business owned by a glassblower, David, and his wife who live in California.

David created a line of glass straws, to address the issue of abuse and misuse of plastic in our world today. Not only are they beautiful, but useful too. Other benefits include (from the website):

  • Glass straws don’t leach toxins into your food as you drink.
  • Each time you use your glass straw equals one less plastic straw ending up in your landfill.
  • One glass straw replaces thousands of plastic straws. (How many times will you use a straw the rest of your life?)
Furthermore,  the straws are…
  • Made of borosilicate tubing and is the strongest glass commercially available. (Means that we have spared no expense in bringing you the strongest, most durable drinking straw possible.)
  • Made of glass which does not leach ANY TOXINS into your food so you can use your non-toxic straws with confidence.
  • Great for hot or cold drinks, microwave and dishwasher safe!
  • Covered with a Lifetime Guarantee Against Breakage – Meaning that if they ever break, GlassDharma will replace them – Free! (how many companies still do this??)
  • Hand-made in the U.S.A.
Upon receiving the straws, I took ‘em out for a test drive.
The green 9.5mm with a little bend near the end is PERFECT for water. Ice cold, warm, and even hot (though I don’t dare drink hot water through glass). *FACT* You drink more when you drink through a straw. You can fact check me on that, but I really did drink more water. And feel like a lady while doing so too!
The purple  12mm straight straw can be purchased with a little cleaner added to the straw box. The thicker width suggest that YEESS indeed this is the ULTIMATE smoothie straw. My biggest problem with drinking through this straw is BRAIN FREEZE. Gotta learn how to hold my horses.;)
This is your perfect entertaining straw. Sipping pink lemonade through this will surely upgrade any party and I’m sure guests will be fighting over it. It’s also beautiful to look at and sits out on the kitchen counter like it was meant to be there.
The blue 7mm was a stunner the moment I opened it. This, is probably my favorite. Yes, it’s true the water comes through there a little slower than the 9mm straws, but just looking at it brightens up my day! The straw can be purchased with a little cleaner added to the straw box, cause you’ll probably need it at some point! You can kind of tell from the picture that this is a real delicate-looking (my kind of classy) straw.
XXX
One lucky reader will receive a $25 gift certificate to GlassDharma to use on any product you desire! To win, simply leave a comment below about something you’ve learned from this post. For a bonus entry, tweet/link back directly to this post and leave a comment saying you did so!
Giveaway ends on: October 22nd at 10pm EST. A random winner will be picked!  Good Luck!
XXX
NOTE: Giveaway has ended.
Winner selected: Laury at Thefitnessdish.com
