I can never turn down a good bread basket at a nice restaurant, in fact, I’ve been known to pick date night places based on the looks of their bread baskets. However, restaurant bread obsession aside, my biggest issue with regular ol’ whole grain bread is that it never fills me up. And…I can end up eating 4 slices (think: French toast) and still be hungry! Never mind that it’s whole grain.

I first discovered Ezekiel bread at Trader Joe’s back in college. FLOUR-FREE bread was a concept that was…rather intriguing. Honestly, I was curious about the hype and was doubtful the taste and texture of a bread made with no flour would be any good. My first loaf bought was cinnamon raisin. After that day, Ezekiel became a staple.

 Image

A little background on Ezekiel bread made by Food For Life. If it’s not made from flour…what is it made from then?

  • Made from freshly sprouted certified organic live grains.
  • Kosher.
  • Use absolutely NO flour. Studies have shown that grinding grains into flour increases the surface area upon which enzymes in the body can work to more, quickly convert starch into glucose.
  • No genetically modified organisms (GMO’s)
  • No refined sugars. When sugar is refined and processed there are many harmful ingredients that are added to the sugar as a result. Instead, they use malted barley, a natural sweetener produced from sprouted barley, which is basically a carbohydrate comprised mostly of complex carbohydrates rather than the “sugar” carbohydrates.
  • Nothing artificial – no preservatives or shortenings.
  • Use a unique slow-bake process to preserve the natural fiber and bran benefits of grains.

For more information about the company, feel free to visit their website.

When Danielle contacted me to try the newest flax sprouted bread from Food for Life, I jumped at the chance to try it out! When the 2 loaves came, I froze them right away (bread doesn’t do well on our counter tops too well!).

 Image

Ingredients

Organic Sprouted Wheat, Filtered Water, Organic Sprouted Flax, Organic Sprouted Barley, Organic Sprouted Millet, Organic Malted Barley, Organic Sprouted Lentils, Organic Sprouted Soybeans, Organic Sprouted Spelt, Fresh Yeast, Organic Wheat Gluten, Sea Salt. Rolled in Organic Flax Seeds.

 

Check out the awesome nutritional profile.

 

Image 

Taste and Texture: Mind you, I’m a lover of all things grainy, coarse, crunchy, sometimes even a little dry. When toasted up, Ezekiel bread is definitely a…”dry bread”. Keep it at room temperature and it’ll be softer, more like your regular bread. The flavor is very much a mild, wheaty flavor. No sweetness but lots of seedy goodness from the sesame, flax, and barley.

However, I LOVE the grains incorporated into these breads. Every bite feels substantial and the seeds really do add to the flavor and texture to the sandwich. This is the perfect sandwich bread with smoked salmon, deli turkey or chipotle hummus in between.

Price: Trader Joes here in Boston sells the bread for $3.69 a loaf. The regular grocery store sell it for at least $1 more. I do know the TJ’s offers a TJ brand of Ezekiel made with sprouted grains, which is a little more forgiving on the wallet, but have not personally tried it yet.

Bottom Line:I only have Ezekiel bread in my apartment as it is the most filling, healthy kind of bread that I find delicious. High in fiber, protein and flavor, Ezekiel satisfies my bread needs. However, it may not be for everyone. For more fluffy, pillowy sandwich breads, Ezekiel is probably not the best bet for you.

*Disclaimer* This is a personal blog and I do not receive monetary compensation for any of my product reviews. All reviews represent the opinion of Lucky taste buds based on personal use and results.

Ezekiel flax bread was provided for free for my review on LTB, but my opinion of the product is and will not be different based on whether or not it was provided free of charge.

