Special K Says: “Enjoy a delicious way to manage your weight.”

Michelle says: Overall…I’m not impressed at all by Special K bars. Low protein count in the cereal bars plus overly sweetened, they tend to trigger more cravings rather than tame them!

***

Double Chocolate Protein Meal bar

Work-out Fuel

Stats: 180 calories, 4.5g fat, 25g carbs, 5g fiber, 10g protein

Special K Says: “Double Chocolate Special K™ Protein Meal Bars are a convenient way to resist temptations because you’ll feel fuller longer*. With 10 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber, a deliciously decadent chocolate flavor, choclolatey chips, crisp-crunchy rice, and a rich chocolatey coating, you’ll enjoy every bite as you manage your shape.”

Michelle says: The bar was unfortunately less satisfying than I had hoped. All I can say is, this tasted pretty much like a chocolate candy bar that had a nice chewy consistency. The bar tasted overwhelmingly sweet, and by the end of it I wanted something to distract my taste buds AND frankly, to feel fuller (this bar probably has a higher GI than Luna and Kashi bars). At 180 calories & 10g of protein, this isn’t a poor choice…but somehow this bar just radiates “artificial” to me.

Verdict: 6/10 (It’s no winner, but it’s not bad at all!)

***

Honey Nut  Cereal Bar

My favorite flavor of all!

Stats: 90 calories, 2g fat, 16g carbs, <1g fiber, 2g protein

Special K Says: “Experience the flavorful combination of golden honey and crunchy nuts in every bite of this 90 calorie snack bar.  The light textured, crispy flakes of Kellogg’s® Special K® cereal make this deliciously simple bar a real delight.”

Michelle says: Honey-sweet is the perfect way to describe the flavor. When I first had this bar, I was addicted to it for about 2 months, and then realized that 1.) I was hungry after about 15 minutes (for another one), 2.) If I wanted a better snack option, I should opt for something less sweet and higher in statiety. Nevertheless, this is one of my favorite Special K cereal bar flavors when I treat it as a “non-chocolate treat”. The tiny pieces of almond flakes scattered on top make me feel like I’m kind of eating healthy.

Verdict: 8.5/10 (It’s one of my favorite flavors in this line)

***

Chocolatey Drizzle Cereal Bar

imported-photos-00393Stats: 90 calories, 2g fat, 16g carbs, <1g fiber, 2g protein

Special K Says: “Experience the rich chocolatey drizzle in every bite of this 90 calorie snack bar.  The great taste of Kellogg’s® Special K ® cereal and lightly sweetened icing make this deliciously simple bar a real delight.”

Michelle says: I’m not impressed at all by this flavor. True to its word, that “drizzle” on top is the only chocolate you get. The rest of the bar is plain just overly sweetened. It’s sticky, soft texture is made up of crushed pieces of special k cereal held together with a syrupy product. I finished this in 4 bites and wanted MORE of anything sweet to occupy my mouth. How unsatisfying, and the LEAST chocolatey bar I’ve ever tried!

Verdict: 4/10 (Not eating this again)