Turtle Mountain Products are made from 100% Coconut Milk!

All their products are DAIRY FREE & SOY FREE!!

I never realized how delicious coconut milk desserts can be until Turtle Mountain sent me these DELICIOUS samples to review.

so delicious ice cream

All these products are…

  • Dairy Free / Lactose Free
  • Soy Free
  • Gluten Free
  • Rich in Medium Chain Fatty Acids
  • Excellent Source of Vitamin B12 (vegetarian friendly)
  • Formulated for Maximum Calcium Absorption
  • Cholesterol Free
  • No Trans Fats
  • Certified Vegan

so delicious dairy

Let us BEGIN!!!

____________________________________________________________________________

Coconut Almond Bar

so delicious coconut barStats: 170 calories, 10g fat, 15g carbs, 10g sugar, 3g fiber, 2g protein

Flavor: The chocolate shell was perfectly chocolatey, reminding me of the Haagen Dazs ice-cream bar chocolate shells, but MUCH thinner and speckled with small, thin almond slices. The Shell cracks easily and melts on your tongue – awesome! The white coconut ice-cream inside tasted just like sweetened coconut milk frozen into solid form, but not overly sugary (as we know, this is sweetened with agave nectar) and a wonderful flavor for anyone who loves the coconut flavor as a replacement for say, good ol’ vanilla. Personally, I’m a traditionalist, so I’d probably not buy this flavor simply because it was TOO coconutty!

Texture: The shell has a nice crisp crunch when you gently bite into it, but melts super quickly. Then the inside filling is creamy, smooth, and very indulgent!

Overall: Since I’m biased and prefer my ice-cream to not taste so much like coconut, I’d have to give this a 6/10 because I’d never buy it (I also wished it were lower in calories…somehow). However, if I were a coconut lover, I’d give this probably an 8.5/10 because I love the concept of an almond-coconut bar, and the fact that it had a wonderful, thoughtful melding of texture and flavor overall!Personally, I’m a traditionalist, so I’d probably not buy this flavor simply because it was way TOO coconutty for me!

***

Vanilla Yogurt

How about a home made Coconut yogurt parfait with Vanilla yogurt, fresh strawberries, & frozen blueberries?

so delicious parfait

Stats: 150 calories, 6g fat, 22g carbs, 19g sugar, 1g protein

Flavor: One of the most mild vanilla yogurts I have ever had with a clear, but subtle coconut undertone. I was definitely glad the coconut flavor wasn’t overpowering in this yogurt, but taste-wise this yogurt would be characterized as subtle, faint, but refreshing.

Texture: Definitely more runny than the regular yogurts (i.e. Yoplait, Dannon Light & fit) that I’ve ever had. Consistency-wise, it is somewhere between creamy and watery. It was very smooth and silky throughout (no lumps) but on its own, may not provide the thickness or satiety one may expect in a “heavier” yogurt (5g of fat).

Overall: While I probably wouldn’t buy this flavor again, it was a solid soy & lactose-free yogurt that was enjoyable! I like it as a dipping-sauce for fruit or other sweet foods on the drier-side.

***

Strawberry Fruit Bar

so delicious strawberry bar

Stats: 70 calories, 0g fat, 16g carbs, 12g sugar, 3g fiber, 0g protein

Flavor: So much berry flavor it was like eating a solidified, smooth, seedless strawberry smoothie! The bar was sweet and slightly tart, but each was strong yet subtle enough to complement the other. It was exactly what I wanted in a milky-tasting, popsicle when I craved something cold, sweet, and good for you!
Texture: Much like a cross between sorbet and full-out ice-cream mixed together and molded into a bar. To be specific, this bar is a little more crumbly than a regular cream-based bar, and a little creamier ( more “substantial”) than a regular fruit popsicle. I love it!

Overall: 9/10 (I would buy this over and over again! Soooo tasty)

***

Vanilla Coconut Milk

I made a yummy green tea frappe’s using vanilla coconut milk!

dsc02656

Stats: 90 calories, 5g fat, 9g carbs, 7g sugar, 1g protein

Flavor: It had a very mild but balanced coconut and vanilla aroma. I wasn’t expecting how UN-sugary it was (pleasantly surprised!) and was glad that the milk was more like “milk” than an overly sweetened beverage.

Consistency: It is definitely thicker and creamier than skim milk and light soymilk, almost indulgent!

Overall: I’d buy this on sale, but not at full price. It’s also difficult to replace unsweetened almond milk (only 40 calories a cup!??) Inside a smoothie (or a green tea frappe) this is delicious and offers a subtle rich coconut after-taste!

***

Mocha Almond Fudge

dsc02678

Stats: 180 Calories, 9g fat, 21g carbs, 14g sugar, 5g fiber, 2g protein

Flavor: This flavor should be renamed to “COCONUT mocha almond fudge” because the ice-cream base had the perfect balance between coffee and sweet coconut flavors. The container had many chunks of almond bits, and rich chocolate fudge was swirled evenly throughout the ice-cream. Yum!!

Texture: Smooth and rich, the ice-cream base was super-silky and dense. It had slightly stiffer fudge swirls that had a nice sticky consistency which complements the base. The many larger-than-usual almond pieces provided a great contrast in consistency with solid crunch to every bite.

Overall: I’m so surprised at how much I loved the sweet, fragrant coconut flavor combined with the slightly bitter coffee. Definitely one of the newest unique, tasty, and indulgent ice-cream flavors I’ve had in a while!

***

Coconut Milk Vanilla Ice-cream Sandwich

coconut ice cream sandwich

Taste: Though I didn’t get a strong vanilla flavor, the fragrant coconut milk-based ice-cream filling was sufficient to make this bar DELICIOUS, flavorful, and really sweet. The chocolate “wafers” probably taste like the typical ice-cream sandwich wafer, but its flavors faded into the background when paired with the strong coconut flavors from the filling.

Texture: The wafers were very soft and a little on the dry side. They were sticky– finger-clinging sticky (so you get to lick/suck them off your finger-tips at the end). The filling is smooth and silky but has a fluffier, slightly airy texture to it.

Overall: I wish this ice-cream sandwich were bigger! It may be on the sweet side for some, but if you want a small, creamy, cold coconut flavored treat, this should be your default! Yummy!

***

ALL IN ALL…

I truly enjoyed all the turtle mountain ice-creams and see it in my future grocery lists! Especially the strawberry fruit bar and the mocha almond fudge ice-cream. So my dear readers, I have been officially converted to a coconut NON-Hater, perhaps even leaning toward a coconut liker?!?!?