Yesterday was THE most exciting Monday in a long time!!!

T’was the perfect example of a day filled with new flavors (for me) that totally PLEASED my picky taste buds.🙂

***

Limey Oatmeal Delight

Gotta start the day right with oatmeal!!

imported-photos-00639

T’was the usual Quaker oats, banana, frozen grapes, and yogurt, but I kicked up the tartness of everything by using lime yogurt and frozen blueberries! Then sprinkles some Yogurt & berries special K cereal to decorate. I was surprised at how delicious the key lime flavor worked with the oats because I’d always thought lime yogurt tasted super artificial, but I must say, I’m a fan of the combo now!

***

Spotlight on the “Impressive” Lunch

I decided to leave my comfort zone to test out the tofu sandwich that has been raved about! Though I wasn’t ready to try sandwich a la Sharon (tofu & almond butter) , who was my inspiration, I did however, create a Tomato Basil Hummus & Tofu Sandwich on Sprouted Rye Bread! It was served with a whole curry-baked butternut squash and an apple on the side.

imported-photos-00646

Here is the sandwich close up. Someone actually took a look at my ensemble and said, “I’m impressed!” MUHHAHAHAHA

imported-photos-00642

The sandwich was a nice thick layer of sundried tomato basil hummus, a whole kirby cucumber sliced thin, and 4 ounces of firm tofu (uncooked). Below is my AWESOME Trader Joe’s Sprouted Rye bread that I will buy again and again!!!

imported-photos-00621Normally, bread isn’t a filler for me. I get hungry really soon after eating Whole Wheat toast (no matter how many slices…or at least up to 5), but this sandwich combo paired with my butternut squash was ridiculously satisfying and filling.

imported-photos-00640

My new Trader Joe’s Sun-dried tomato & basil hummus was SOOOOO amazing in my sandwich. I doubt the sandwich would have been so fragrant and flavorful without it. If you’ve never tried this flavor, GO GET SOME!!!!! I think this is by far my favorite hummus (awesome value too at $2.19 -worth every penny) inside a sandwich with lighter flavors. The flavors of basil and sun-dried tomato truly resonate in your mouth even after you swallow your bite. It MADE my sandwich.🙂

***

A new favorite!

As most of you who follow luckytastebuds know, I’ve tested LOADS of LUNA bars with only a few successes. However, this flavor has hit home for me and is up there with the White Chocolate Macadamia!

imported-photos-00648

LUNA Berry Almond

Being a big fan of berries and almonds certainly helped, but the bar itself had an excellent balance of mildly sweet, tart & fruity, and NO CHEMICAL after-taste!!!! Though it was the most sticky LUNA I’ve had, the texture wasn’t a deal-breaker. I loved that there were large dried (and mushy) red berries embedded inside the bar. However, I didn’t see or taste any almonds. For 180 calories and 9g of protein, this bar was perfect in fueling my workout AND didn’t leave me dying to stuff food in my mouth afterward!

(Yay! It must be the Low GI that Clif doesn’t have! Isn’t it strange Clif & Luna are made by the same company?)

Overall Score: 8.5/10 (I’d definitely buy it again and eat it when I’m in the fruity mood!)

***

Random side-note: WHOSE PISSED at The Bachelor?!?!??! And I don’t even follow this show! Gahhh, the two crazies (Molly and him) deserve each other.