So it seems the blogosphere is in love with “before” & “after” pics of oneself. Unfortunately, I’m not quite ready for the exposure, but I’d still like to share something.

The message? Don’t judge a book by its cover?😛

***

Lemon Chiffon Pumpkin Pie Oats

Before…

imported-photos-006771

*FYI*: I just eyeball everything I put in. No exact measurements are ever taken. Sorry!

1 pack original oats, 3 giant heapings of pumpkin, Yoplait lemon chiffon pie yogurt, a banana, frozen blueberries & grapes, a sprinkling of puffins, frosted mini-wheats, and Quaker oatmeal squares, & a dash of skim milk!

&

After!

imported-photos-006781

SO delicious when everything is “scrambled” together !!!!

You get the burst of tartness from the softened fruits, the hearty mushyness from the banana & oats, the occasional crunch from the cereal, and ALL the glorious flavors from the yogurt!!

I Heart Breakfast!!! Especially when it looks like the “After” picture.🙂

***

5-Course Prix-Fix Lunch

I’m all up for eating economically, but eating in doesn’t have to be a 2 course deal. In other words, I like big lunches that hold me over for a while because snacking smart can be challenging at work.

Soup, Entree, Side, Dessert, and Dessert!

Let’s start with a packet of Chicken Noodle soup!

pictures-from-usb-009

Moving on to the Entree and 2 desserts ona plate!

My work-made turkey hummus brussel sprout wrap, an apple with Peanut Butter (I AM SOOO an almond butter convert), and and an aging banana…my favorite!

pictures-from-usb-005

And MORE dessert!

These cookies are from a local sandwich shop Bat17 in the college town I work in. These cookies come in a bunch of flavors, big, gooey and soft in the center, so I had 2 quarter pieces.🙂

An iced oatmeal cherry cookie & A sugar cookie

imported-photos-00683

*TOUFAYAN Wrap Spotlight!*

The wonderful folks at Toufayan Bakeries sent me a giant box of pitas and wraps to review! Because there were so many packets, I shared ’em with my co-workers. (Don’t you wish you worked with me? muahaha)

imported-photos-006901

Unusual, but I used to HATE HATE HATE wraps!!! We never had them when I lived in Hong Kong, but in college, the wrap skins were thick and dry (like bagels – another dry thing I always end up choking on). I’ve changed my  mind now thanks to Toufayan!

imported-photos-00679

These wraps were pliablesoft, and moist so I could easily roll up the insides without ingredients falling all over the place, and they were the perfect thickness! (Thin) I think my bf would like this because it doesn’t taste very “wheat-y”, even though it is! The WW wraps are 160 calories, 3g of fat, 3g of fiber, and 6g of protein. Do you have a favorite brand of wraps that are soft and moist?

pictures-from-usb-003

This DELICIOUS wrap (and I would eat this every day, all week) contains a spreading of sun-dried tomato & basil hummus,6 slices of deli honey-roasted turkey meat, a pack ot steamfresh brussel sprouts (yum!!!) and as much spinach as I could stuff into the wrap.

I know the brussel sprouts seem a little strange, but I love the warmth and juicyness of the steamed veggies. They also have a natural sweetness to them that compliment the bold hummus & turkey flavors. Try it!!

***

Hello LARABARs!!

Just when I thought I was going to hit a mid-afternoon slump…The wonderful Lewis at Larabar sent me a variety box of Larabars along with a t-shirt after featuring me on the Larabar blog –> check it out here!!

pictures-from-usb-0061

If you’re new to LARABARs, here’s a little highlight:

“LÄRABAR is a delicious blend ofunsweetened fruits, nuts and spices – energy in its purest form. Made from 100% whole food, each flavor contains no more than six ingredients. Pure and simple, just as nature intended.”

1 SERVING OF FRUIT * NO ADDED SUGAR * UNPROCESSED * RAW

NON- GMO * GLUTEN FREE * DAIRY FREE * SOY FREE * VEGAN * KOSHER

Because everyone raves about the same usual flavors…cashew, coconut cream pie, I being the “rebel” that I am (muahahhahah…Right…) reached right for the Cocoa Mole to power my workout. If you don’t want to read the review, skip to the end for an important message!!

***

Cocoa Mole LARABAR

Having already tried the peanut butter cookie and cinnamon roll (my favorites) and actually disliked the cashew cookie, I sort of had an idea of what my Larabar was going to look like, but by no means was I ready for this!

pictures-from-usb-007

!Ingredients: Dates, Almonds, Walnuts, Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, Cinnamon, Chili.

First Impressions: Appearance-wise, it is exactly what I expected, smooth, shiny, and not sticky at all. I didn’t get the strong whiff of sweet aromas that were present in the cinnamon roll & PB cookie flavors and was a tad bit worried it could be a bland flavor.

Flavor: The first bite was fruity, it was a condensed and slightly savory thanks to the dates. I was worried that I wouldn’t taste the cocoa nor the mole (Mole means “sauce” or “concoction” in Spanish, according to wiki). The second bite I began to taste the smoky subtle undertone of the unsweetened cooca powder that was slightly masked by the nutty walnut flavors. Mmmm, I’m curious for more now. The third bite, my tongue is starting to get a little warm from the chili spices baked into the bar. I could get used to this! The fourth bite, I’m hooked to the crunch and the heat!!!! By the end of the bar, my mouth was hot (and boy am I good at tolerating spicy-ness), my tummy was satisfied, and I knew my body was fueled for a sweaty cardio workout.

Texture: This is a firm and dense bar that holds its shape well. I like to “break” pieces off my bars bit by bit, and this moist bar didn’t crumble under the pressure. It has that crunchy-ness from the UBER-plentiful scatter of walnuts, but the almond pieces got stuck rather easily in the cracks of my teeth, which was slighly bothersome.

Overall: I loved the mystery of this flavor and the natural yet exciting progression of flavors going from one bite to the next. It is for anyone who likes to kick it up a notch with a bit of heat, but don’t expect to feel like you’re indulging in chocolate. Cocoa mole is definitely more fruity and nutty. My only wish was that the almond pieces would stop getting stuck in my teeth and that there  “lighter” in calories. Otherwise, this is the best and only spicy bar I’ve ever had and I will DEFINITELY reach for it again!!

***

Important message alert:

You are DEFINITELY gonna wanna leave a comment or prove your existence, because if you’re a luckytastebuds reader, the NEXT giveaway will give YOU a special bonus!!

Hint: Think PopChips😉

Muhahahahah. Stay tuned folks, and for now, have a fabulous Friday!!!