Regrets on the Chilean Sea Bass

Thanks to Marianne, I found out that Chilean Sea Bass I ate at Reza’s is one of the WORST choices for ecology AND my health!!! According to the Environmental Defense Fund, here is why you shouldn’t eat it:

  • Marketed as “Chilean sea bass”, toothfish are in severe decline from overfishing.
  • Popular with consumers, they fetch premium prices, which have spurred rampant illegal fishing.
  • The longlines commonly used to catch Chilean sea bass often snag endangered albatrosses and other seabirds as they grab bait, and the birds end up drowning.
  • The fish is high in mercury levels. Adults should eat NO MORE than 2 meals per month!!!

The EDF has a great printable list of BEST & WORST Seafood to buy. Please print one out for yourself here!!!! Here’s also a pocket  sushi selector.

Other WORSTS: Grouper, Orange Roughy, Farmed/Atlantic Salmon, Swordfish, Bigeye & Bluefin Tuna

BEST Choises: Artic Char, Oysters, Atlantic Mackerel, Wild Alaskan Salmon, Rainbow Trout, Yellowfin Tuna

***

Berried Out Oats!

breakfast berry oats

If you love berries, you’ll love this combo!

  • 1 Pack original Quaker oats microwaved with 1/2 cup almond milk
  • (Hidden) Frozen Pineapples under the yogurt
  • 1 Container Raspberry Yogurt (I use Yoplait light)
  • 1/2 Banana-mama
  • All the berries you like!
  • Puffins & Quaker Oatmeal Squares for some crunch

berry berry oats

The breakfast didn’t keep me full for too long though. I had an ounce of unsalted almonds (no pic) to hold me over till lunch.

***

“Is Sour-ish Tofu Safe to Eat?”

I’m not sure if I cooked this too long ago (1 week) or kept it in the fridge for too long, but after I microwaved this lunch, the baked tofu tasted really sour! Is this…normal?

Asparagus, baked tofu, spinach, wild rice

You’re looking at Steamed Asparagus, 4oz baked BBQ tofu, 2 cups sauteed spinach, 1/2 cup Wild Rice from Lundenberg’s microwaveable rices. (I love it!! SO convenient to make and it tastes so nutty! I like it more than brown rice for sure)

apple and chipsThis was my dessert! Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream Ruffles are so yummy! And then a super crisp apple.🙂 I worked really hard all afternoon and by 5, I busted out some snacks to fuel me for some Kwando!

chobani and chocolate trails

Chobani with 1 tbs cinnamon & 1 tbs honey (YUMMY!!!), and most of the YOU Trail Mix sample I got in the mail last week. The Youbar guys are adding a customizable trail mix line to their products so you can make your own too!

Stats for “Chocolate Trails”: 220 cals, 13g fat, 4g fiber, 15g sugar, 4g protein

My mini-review: The nuts in there are raw and unsalted, which I appreciate. However, what you see is what you get. You could probably make your own mix at home if you have these ingredients. I do like that it’s portioned already and convenient though!

Anyway, all this powered me through an awesome workout. I SERIOUSLY gave new meaning to “Sweating like a Pig”. Someone even asked me if I just showered when in fact, it was my sweat. hahaha.

***

I got super-excited for dinner because I’ve been meaning to make pizza for weeks with the bf now!!!

**Cheese-less Pizza 101**

If you’re like me and you LOVE thin crust pizza, yet NOT a fan of the truckloads of cheese piled on top of restaurant pizza’s, AND you like lots ‘n lots of toppings, you will love this!!

Home-baked Veggie Shrimp Cheese-less Pizza!

OK, obviously there’s one slice WITH cheese for the bf.😛 He ran out of cheese after that one slice. hehehome made shrimp pizza!

You will need:

  • 1 pack pre-made garlic (or WW) pizza dough from TJ’s
  • Fresh Spinach
  • 2 cups King Oyster Mushrooms, sliced & sauteed
  • 1 Cup frozen peeled shrimp, sauteed with garlic
  • 1/2 Onion, sliced & sauteed
  • 1/2 jar pasta/tomato sauce
  • 1/2 Clove of fresh garlic, minced

Simply, stretch out the dough (I made mine super thin on the inside and crustier on the outside), spread your marinara, arrange all your ingredients on top, and bake for 12-15 minutes! EASY and TASTY!

mini sliceI tried to retain the hungry beast in me, but it was SO GOOD I had 2 large wedges and finally this last little guy.

Our sides included, Chinese Broccoli boiled & topped with oyster sauce (YUM YUM YUM!!!! My childhood favorite), and a spinach & carrot salad (tossed with EVOO, balsamic, sesame seeds, & seaweed).

salad and chinese broccoli

Pan-fried Miso-Honey Glazed Salmon, the bf was in charge of this, and despite how delicious it was, the bf loves his oil when he fries fish.  Think, greasy lips. mmmmmm

Pan-seared miso honey salmon

WONDERFUL dinner, WONDERFUL day!!!

MY CHEAP THRILL OF THE DAY: This weekend I helped the bf accomplish something – we found him a new apartment!!! He’ll be living RIGHT beside Navy Pier. It’s farther from me, but it’s got a fabulous view!! So I share this with you..Nick's viewThe picture really doesn’t do it justice, but if you stood on his roof, you can look all the way across Lake Michigan! Exciting!!!!!😛

Hope you’ve all had a great day!!

What was your most recent “cheap thrill”??!