Aloha!!!

Hope you’ve all been great!! Please pardon my MIA-ness! One of my best college girlfriends from Hawaii is staying with me this whole week and I’m trying to be a good host, so that means less internet time! Then, this weekend the bf has planned a little GETAWAY for our 2 year anniversary so I’ll be gone again (though I have NO idea where we’re going)!!

Blueberry Bombshell Irish Oats

bb-oats-2

Have you tried blueberry special K?? Because it’s REALLY REALLY good. So Good I had to eat a bowl of it after I ate my bowl of oatmeal. Maybe I just like trying new foods (especially cereal), but it’s yummy!!

In my oatmeal:

  • 1 pack McCann’s regular Irish Oatmeal w/ ½ cup skim milk
  • ½ cup Trader Joe’s (cheaper) non-organic frozen blueberries
  • ½ cup canned pumpkin, stirred in
  • 1 container Light ‘n Fit Blueberry Yogurt (SO cheap in bulk at Costco)
  • ½ Ultra ripe banana-mama
  • Topped with Blueberry Special K & Cinnamon life
  • Blackberries for effect…heheh

  • bb-oats-1
    SMILE!!

I was full after the bowl, but REALLY wanted to experience the new box of blueberry special k by itself, so I had a cup of cereal with skim milk!!! YUMMY and TOTALLY hit the spot! It’s always wonderful when a cereal can hold up to milk “soakage” and retain some of its crunchiness while still being moist. It flavored my milk all blue-berryish and it was such a treat to find a bite with some blueberry granola clusters or dried blueberries. 🙂

***

Honey BBQ Chicken Salad & BuNS!!!

BuNS as in, Butternut Squash that is. I had roasted 2 butternut squashes and used one was used to top this spinach salad.

bns salad

I hate raw spinach because it has that metallic after-taste due to the high levels of iron in it. So I poured some warm chicken broth over it the night before when I was making dinner so soften it. MUCH better! Check it out yourself!

  • 4 – 5 oz oven-baked honey BBQ chicken breast
  • 1 BuNS, Roasted to perfection😛
  • 2 Kirby cucumbers (I love these mini-Japanese cucumbers!!! So cute and extra crunchy!)
  • 4 cups of spinach
  • ½ cup shelled edemame
  • ½ cup roasted red peppers
  • 4 sticks of carrots (peeled & chopped)roasted bns

If there is one thing in this world I could eat at every meal for the rest of my life, it would be Roasted Butternut Squash. YUMMMMM. *drool*

For dessert, I had a plain Chobani piled with frozen blueberries, frozen pineapples!

chobani fro fruitAnd when I polished those off first without even touching the yogurt, I poured on some Nuts ‘n’ Things (natural & unsalted) from Flannigan Farms!

Overall: 7.5/10. I love that they’re so conveniently packaged and portioned, as well as how raw and fresh all the ingredients were inside! Unfortunately, the bitter peanut after-taste killed it (personal bias). Sorry Flannigan farms, but hey, I’m really excited to try the non-peanut mixes!!

flanigan farms

Taste & Texture: The cashews taste like peanuts and are slightly soft to the bite. The raisins are plump, juicy, and sweet, unlike the dry and tough ones found in many trail mixes. The peanuts are my least favorite because of their slightly bitter after-taste, but this is definitely a raw, unsalted peanut and I know that at least it is truly unprocessed and all-natural. My favorites are the raw almonds and pumpkin seeds! They are fresh, crunchy, and have retained its own distinctive flavors, lingering on your tongue after the bite.

Quantity: As expected, the peanuts and raisins are in the majority, but that makes finding the occasional almond and pumpkin seed that much more fun! Plus…I do like raisins!

***

Simply Sensational Supper!

The best dinner I’ve had in a long time is always homemade of course! All together…for 2 people.😛

dinner delights

The BF’s concoction was AMAZING – A chicken, tofu, mushroom, and bean sprout stir-fry.

Nick's stir-fry

The star of the dish is five-spice infused pressed tofu (can be found in the refrigerator section of your Asian grocer in transparent packages). It’s different to regular tofu in that it is pretty much compressed tofu that has already been marinated and dried in traditional Chinese herbs and spices. It is DELICIOUS sliced and then stir-fried with other veggies.

  • 4 slabs five-spire infused Chinese tofu
  • 1 cup king oyster mushrooms, slices
  • A whole package minced chicken (or minced protein of your choice)
  • 5-6 cups bean sprouts
  • ½ garlic diced, ½ onion sliced
  • Lots of oil (because the bf was in charge. *sigh*)

My concoction is my favorite traditional Chinese dish in the ENTIRE WORLD – steamed fish!

Chinese tilapia

This hunka fresh farmed tilapia (not endangered, unlike that “sea bass”) for $3. Simply put it in a bowl with the following sauces and steam for ~15 minutes depending on the size of your fish.

  • 3 Sprigs spring onion, sliced
  • 1 ½-inch slice ginger, julienned & stuffed into the fish
  • ½ cup fish-steaming soy-sauce
  • ¼ cup regular light soy-sauce

I adore this dish SO much my mom makes it for me every day in Hong Kong when I go home for vacation. *sigh* I miss home.

Basil & Spice Marinated Grilled Veggies, which I was in charge of.

veggie roasted

I marinated all these veggies in basil, olive oil, and all the herbs in the bf’s pantry (um…that would be 2 total), then grilled ‘em on the foreman. My favorite has got to be grilled eggplant. I ate them all. Our least favorite (surprisingly for me) was the tomato! (Too tart and squishy)

  • 2 long eggplant sticks
  • 5 carrot sticks, peeled & sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3 zucchini’s
  • 1 container fresh mushrooms

Dinner was SO filling and satisfying we just treated the veggies as carbs and decided no rice or potatoes necessary! But then…came the carbs in the form of Original Popchips with Sabra for a savory dessert! YUM!!!! NEW favorite snack combo!!!

Regular PopChips with sabra

On a random note, I’ve noticed that bread does NOT fill me up!!!! No matter if it’s whole wheat or not, sprouted or not, fiber or protein enhanced (or not…) it just DOESN’T!!!  Would you happen to have an idea why? And are there certain foods that just doesn’t fill YOU up?

Perhaps I am just a mutant. muhahhah