Flanigan Farms Says, “Flanigan Farms Natural Foods was started in 1970 by Owen and Patsy Flanigan to address the need for natural unsalted nuts and delicious trail mixes in the grocery stores. Almost 4 decades and millions of packages later, the Flanigan Farms Family still provides the highest quality nuts and best tasting trail mixes available.”

Michelle says, the coolest thing about these nuts is that they really ARE high quality, natural tasting, unsalted, and fresh. I also love the convenient snack packages they come in. Now if only I didn’t have to have them shipped to me (and depending on the price), I’d totally buy the nuts ‘n fruit again and again for an easy, on the go, SUPER healthy and raw snack!”

Visit Flanigan Farms’ site to order from their collection of goodies!

***

Nuts ‘N Things

Ingredients: Dry roasted Peanuts, California Raisins, Sunflower Seeds, Almonds and Pepitas (Pumpkin Seeds).

flanigan farms

Taste & Texture: The cashews taste like peanuts and are slightly soft to the bite. The raisins are plump, juicy, and sweet, unlike the dry and tough ones found in many trail mixes. The peanuts are my least favorite because of their slightly bitter after-taste, but this is definitely a raw, unsalted peanut and I know that at least it is truly unprocessed and all-natural. My favorites are the raw almonds and pumpkin seeds! They are fresh, crunchy, and have retained its own distinctive flavors, lingering on your tongue after the bite.

Quantity: As expected, the peanuts and raisins are in the majority, but that makes finding the occasional almond and pumpkin seed that much more fun! Plus…I do like raisins!

Overall: 7.5/10. I love that they’re so conveniently packaged and portioned, as well as how raw and fresh all the ingredients were inside! Unfortunately, the bitter peanut after-taste killed it (personal bias). Sorry Flannigan farms, but hey, I’m really excited to try the non-peanut mixes!!

***

Nuts ‘N Fruit

Stats per pack (1/4 cup): 130 cals, 8g fat, 12g carbs, 1g fiber, 4g protein

Ingredients: Almonds, Riasins, Dates, Cashews, Sunflower seeds, Pumpkin Seeds, & dried organic fuyu persimmons (when available)

Thoughts: I Love the little dried date cubes and the VERY occasional teeny strips of fuyu persimmons! I also appreciate the fact that the naturally fragrant and unsalted nuts inside the packet are in halves or smaller pieces because it makes the snacking process so much more fun!  I don’t care much for the sunflower seeds as they’re always the last ones that sink to the bottom of the packet, and I wouldn’t call myself a sunflower seed lover.

Verdict: 8/10

***

California Almonds

Taste: I wondered what was so special about these unsalted almonds from California, and decided that flavor-wise, it has a slightly lighter almond flavor than the salted ones from the store. I really appreciate the natural sweetness and nuttiness from the almond itself, which Flanigan did a great job of preserving.

Texture: Slightly less crunchy than your regular store-bought salted almonds, these give in to the bite a little more than I’m used to, but still crisp!

Overall: 7/10. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to buy these and would probably instead buy an economical tub from Costco to package it myself. This is great for the on-the-go person with no time at 1.5 servings x 170 calories per baggie.