Are you a fast oxidizer or a slow oxidizer? Jillian Michael’s last radio show touched on this very topic of how our bodies convert food into energy. Because different people break down macronutrients (protein, fat, carbohydrates) at a different pace, Jillian advocates that we should vary our diets based on what type you are to feel optimally energized and fuller for a longer period of time.

  • Fast Oxidizers = Break down foods faster = Do better with more fat & protein
  • Balanced Oxidizers = Equal portions of carbs vs. fat
  • Slow Oxidizers = Should eat foods that break down faster (i.e. carbohydrates)

To find out what “type” you are, you can visit this post for Jillian’s quiz, or here is a good site listing characteristics of slow & fast oxidizers (but not balanced)

Do you know what your type is, and do you vary your diet based on it?

Please share your thoughts on this as I’d love to compile some information to share!🙂

***

Strawberry Rhubarb Pumpkin Oats

rhubarb oats

  • 1 pack original oats with ½ cup water & lots of cinnamon
  • ½ cup pumpkin, stirred in after microwaving
  • Frozen Pineapple chunks
  • ½ a banana mama
  • Assortment of cereals like Cinnamon Life & Quaker Oatmeal Squares
  • 2 heaping table spoons of Rhubarb strawberry butter from Galena’s Canning Co.!rhubarb oats

Unfortunately, this breakfast didn’t fill me up for long and I was hungry in 2 hours! Must be the lack of protein in my oats, so I had a pack of trail mix of

Flanigan Farms Nuts ‘N Things (see review a couple posts back if you’re interested).

***

Chili & “Ficken” Wrap!

Lunch was 2 cups of homemade vegetarian chili with Dr. Krackers and a Flat out F-icken Wrap.

chili and wrap

Well, Fake Chicken strips that is…from Lightlife’s all veggie products. (They’re more famous for their “smart deli” luncheon meats and tempeh.) *Click here for my full review of the fake chicken*

Here’s half my wrap so you can get a close up! I’ve got some romaine lettuce, 3 slices deli turkey, fake chicken strips, and ViVi’s chipotle hot sauce.

fake chicken wrapIt was really quite delicious, but I’d have to thank the hot sauce for that.

Vegetarian Zucchini Chili

With the right chili spices, this is a darn spunky, smoky chili that tastes so wholesome I didn’t even miss the meat! Again, a one-pot recipe I never stray from.close up chili

Just chop up all these ingredients and dump into a pot, bring to boil, and then simmer for 30 minutes! Makes 3 servings (for me at least!)

chili ingredients

  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can mushrooms
  • 2 zucchini’s, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 pack chili seasoning from Amazing Taste Foods
  • 1 can black beans (or beans of your choice)
  • Chili flakes (unpictured) to give it a punch

On the side, I had 2x servings of Mr. Krispers DELICIOUS rice-crackers (which I LOVE) and a big ass apple.

sour cream and onion krisps

***Click here for the full review**

***

Snack: WHO NEEDS oatmeal cookies when you can have a Gnu Cinnamon Raisin Bar?!?!?!

Gnu cinnamon raisin bar

I cannot say how impressed I am with:

1) How moist it is! No, not crumbly, soft and JUST smooshy enough to the gentle touch.

2) The flavor is spot on cinnamon raisin “cookie”, but with 12g of fiber and MUCH less fat.

I’m just sad it ended when it did. obviously, there wasn’t enough Gnu to go around. However, I must say my favorite flavor is still the banana walnut. teehee.

***

For dinner, I opted for the easy way out because I find it BORING to cook dinner alone at home.

Southern with a Chinese Twist!

sweet potato and chili

Vegetarian Zucchini Chili, a steamed Yam, & Bak Choi seasoned with lemon pepper salt and chicken broth. Simple and delicious!

And what’s for dessert you say???

ME AND GOJI!!!!

me and goji

Very much like the mix my granola & My Way Cereal concept, but out of them all, this is up top with Mix (My way is…just…not yummy). The bottom line is that Me & Goji is EXTRA generous with their mix-ins (I had 14 ingredients total…a little exessive, yes) and has more to choose from than My Way Cereal.

Cons: Just like all the other customized cereals, this is pricey for good old fashioned cereal.

***

Anyway, TGI da weekend!!! and care to share your thought on oxidation?!?

I got an AWESOME update comin’ up.🙂

*think* CHICAGO FOOD TOUR!!!