As a woman who loves her tofu and vanilla soy milk, I often wonder how much validity there is in scientific  studies that have shown that diets high in soy foods are THE devil. (Jillian Michael’s would agree)

So I decided to embark on a little journey called “research” and stumbled upon this legit & awesome vegan site that addresses some of my concerns, including the link between soy and all these nasty effects…

  • Elevated estrogen levels (isoflavins) leading to breast cancer
  • Interference with thyroid function (goiters/enlarged thyroid gland)
  • Increased risk of dementia
  • Lower sperm count in men

Dr.  Virginia Messina, MPH, RD’s Recommendation: “Based on the bulk of the evidence soy appears to be perfectly safe for nearly all healthy individuals when it is consumed in reasonable amounts. We would say that a reasonable amount of soy is 2 – 3 servings per day. Women who have had estrogen-positive breast cancer may want to be somewhat more restrictive in their soy intake but, if they are already eating and enjoying soyfoods, there is not enough evidence of any harmful effects to suggest that they need to avoid all soy.”

I agree. I like my soy, and anything in moderation should be JUST fine.

***

Oat Bran Milky Mush

Breakfast these days tend to be coming down in temperature (meaning, lots of cold add-ins) though Chicago is FREEZING for June. (WTHECK, 50’s!)

  • oatbran and milk mush1/3 cup oat bran & 1/2 pack Jay Robb Vanilla Protein Powder with 1/2 cup water
  • (Hidden) Handful Frozen pineapples
  • (Hidden) 1/2 banana
  • 4oz Raspberry yogurt
  • 1/3 cup skim milk (that’s what I have to work with when I’m at work)
  • Topped with generous amounts of original puffins and blueberry special K

I love when breakfasts keep you full for several hours! Unfortunately, I have finally come across one problem – Who knows how to get oatbran + protein powder = NO CLUMPING?? Because my clumps are nasty.

***

Soy Sausage Spelt Wrap

Two things I GOTTA GOTTA GOTTA highlight in this portable home-made lunch:

  1. Lightlife may make mediocre chicken strips, but their Italian Veggie Sausage is SPOT ON Delicious!!!!
  2. Rudy’s Bakery Whole Spelt Tortilla Wraps are more filling than flat outs!!! Plus, they hold up SO well to wet fillings like mine.
  3. All wraps tastes better with your own home-made stuff-filling.🙂

sausage wrap with sides

My little stir fry is a filling made out of: Shirataki noodles, seaweed, cauliflower, and Chinese pickled turnips (that are salty and give everything its flavor). I prefer warm fillings to cold veggies ANY DAY!!

Plus, the denser stuffing if more filling than regular spinach and raw veggies – studies have also shown that many veggies are more nutritiously dense after steaming/cooking!

veggie sausage wrap

Spotlight on my super well-seasoned, delicious veggie dog! The texture was chewy, soft,  and yummy – I think these taste SO much better than regular sausages. It is also not greasy at all!! The soy protein holds very well together, reminding me almost of densely packed mushrooms.

There are 140 calories per dog, click here for more stats. It’s ingredients include:

WATER, SOY PROTEIN ISOLATE, SOYBEAN OIL, EGG WHITE POWDER, DRIED VEGETABLES (ONION, GARLIC, TOMATO, RED AND GREEN BELL PEPPERS), LESS THAN 2% OF: POTATO STARCH, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, TAPIOCA STARCH, NATURAL FLAVOR (FROM VEGETABLE SOURCES), CANOLA OIL, SUNFLOWER OIL, WHEAT GLUTEN, CELLULOSE GUM, EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, SPICES, SEA SALT, BARLEY MALT EXTRACT, SALT. CONTAINS: Soy, Wheat, Egg.

***

One Plate Fits ALL!

Boy home cooking is so under rated! Dinner was simple and delish with Oven-baked tilapia, boiled Chinese broccoli topped with Oyster Sauce (best sauce in the world!), Short-grain Brown Rice, Chinese Braised eggs, and edamame! *phew* Long Shpiel eh?

baked fish, rice, edemame, eggs, apple

Edemame comes in a sandwich bag because after I boil ’em, I like to toss ’em with spices. This time, I used cajun popcorn seasoning from Kernel Seasons. Let me tell ya, it was GOOOOD.

baked fish and rice dinner

It really just occured to me that some of the stuff I eat might seem strange to people…like those brown eggs (which may I add, taste heavenly)…

What is the strangest food you love that you suspect most people just won’t appreciate?

***

My Favorite Soy-based dessert ever?? Cantonese Tofu Fa!!

Which is literally soft silken tofu, usually topped with a little bit of brown sugar and sitting in some ginger broth.

tofu fa

It is made of soy milk, gypsum powder, potato starch, and your choice of  sweetener (like rock or brown sugar). Check out THIS site for a recipe WITH step-by-step pictures, or THIS site!

***

Now I gotta do a little spot light on a special snack by Good Health Natural Foods, mainly because I’ve never had such interesting hummus chips before!!

HUMBLES

Whoever came up with the name must be an interesting person. This is the first chip I’ve seen that’s made out of chickpeas!!!

“Humbles™ (surprise!) are made from hummus – which is made from the humble chick pea, one of mankind’s favorite snacks for a millennium now – so they’re as naturally tasty as they are healthful. Baked to a crispy-crunchy golden brown, with only 4 or 4.5 grams of fat per serving(and no trans fat).”

humbles chickpea chips markethouse

Flavor: These come in 3 flavors, but I got the Olive oil, lime, & feta flavor. OMGOSH these are quite delicious and you can definitely taste the punch of the lime, combined with the beany-ness of the chip itself.

Texture: Crispy and crunchy just like a potato chip, but thinner and airier.

Verdict: I believe these are better than potato chips due to their lower calorie and fat count plus the higher protein (3g per serving)! I noticeably ate LESS than I would eating a Popchip simply because the chips were well seasoned and very satisfying.

***

For now, I am 6 full days FREE of diet soda and Splenda! It’s really not that hard after the first 2 days…and the occasional CRAAAVING when you see it dangling in front of you. heheheh :)If I can do it, YOU CAN DO IT TOO!!!

YAY it’s almost the weekend!!! Chicago Ribfest anybody?!?