Hi guys!!

It’s that time of the year when people are takin’ some much needed breaks/vacations, and my family is no exception! My July 4th weekend will be spent in San Francisco with my fam (who are flying in from Hong Kong!!!)

CALLING ALL SF bloggers!! May I interest you in a blogger meet up!?!?!?! (July 4th – 8th) Or, if you’ve been to SF, what’s your favorite touristy thing to do there? What’s your favorite restaurant?

***

This post is gonna be all about takin’ you lovely folks on a hot ‘n steamy holiday through food!!!

Greece-y Breakfast

Though people in Greece probably don’t eat vitatops…they do eat Greek Yogurt!! What I didn’t realize about GY is that there’s less lactose in it than regular yogurt!! Interesting, no?

Part 1: Oikos Strawberry Greek Yogurt (New flavor, and oh so delicious. Not too sweet, lumps of strawberry, so lovely) + Toasted Cranbran Vitatop (I like the chewy bran texture, but it’s super DRY!) + Mushy nectarine.

vitatop, honey oikos, nectarine breakfast

There is no better way to eat a sweet little Vitatop but to top it with greek yogurt and chopped mushy fruit.

What you don’t see in this picture is that I dunk each bite into the pot of yogurt before inhaling it. Necessary for maximum moisture-control of the vitatop. (Hey! These guys dry out fast after you toast them!)

vitatop topped with honey oikoes

Yogurt Storage Tips:

1) Yogurt can store up to 7-10 days after its sell by date if kept refrigerated continuously!

2) Discard Yogurt if mold appears (duh)

3) You can FREEZE yogurt for up to 2 months after it’s sell by date (just thaw in the fridge) = Fro Yo!!

Tips courtesy of my new favorite food storing website: Still Tasty!

Breakfast Part II: I also had this SoyJoy from MONTHS ago that I bought for fun. But after reading so many reviews from SoyJoy haters, I put it off for a little while…meheheh. Click below to get nutritional stats:

The Peanut Chocolate Chip SoyJoy

Ingredients: Whole Soybean Powder, Raisin, Butter (from milk), Sugar, Peanuts, Egg, Milk Chocolate Chips (sugar, whole milk powder, cocoa butter, chocolate liquor (with alkali), dextrose, butter oil, soy lecithin, vanilla extract, salt), Dried Pineapple, Maltodextrin (natural fiber source), Natural Flavors, Salt, Parmesan Cheese (from skim milk)

peanut soy joy

Flavor: Lightly sweet, with a clean peanut flavor and occasional burst of cocoa-ness from the random chocolate chip. It’s not your traditional indulgent tasting peanut/chocolate bar because of it is definitely a tad bit fruity, but it’s refreshing to me! Not heavy.

Texture: Much drier and crumblier than most other bars I’ve ever had with occasional crunch from the small pieces of peanut and chips scattered throughout the SoyJoy. There are mini pieces of dried pineapple that offer a nice, slightly chewy texture.

Overall: You know what, I like this bar!ย  It isn’t too sweet, it’s nutty, flavorful, and though a little dry, tasty. I find that last ingredient (parmesan cheese) kinda off-putting though.

***

Take me to Malibu

Amazing Taste sent me some AWESOME seasoning packets to sample. I’ve already used up their fantastic chili seasoning and now I present to you lunch in Malibu!!!!

Asian-Inspired Malibu Tofu Wrap

Why Asian inspired you say?? My veggies and my marinade!

I love my wraps WARM, so instead of putting cold spinach/tomatoes, I always sautee vegetables the night before and microwave it before I put it in my wraps!

For the Malibu-baked Tofu

All you gotta do is bake in a 350 degree oven till your desired texture! (I baked for a good 45 minutes since the tofu was still wet when I put it in the oven)

malibu seasoning

It says to sprinkle it on any meats, but I tried it on tofu! The BBQ sauce helped the seasoning stick well.

The flavors are SO incredible, and really pungent. I love my tofu this way and wrapped up in a Rudy’s Organic Whole Spelt Wrap? Perfect!

baked tofu in spelt wrap

As for my vegetable sautee…

  • 1/2 head of cabbage, finely sliced
  • 4 cups bean sprouts
  • 1/2 cup dried kelp slices (Kelp = seaweed)

I buy my kelp and seaweed from Asian grocery stores for ~$1.50 a pack (vs. WF which sells them for over $4)

For all the wonderful benefits of seaweed, check out GC’s whole post dedicated to all the wonderful ways you can eat it!๐Ÿ™‚

lunch baked tofu wrap with veggies

I was stuffed after lunch, and it was SO SO GOOD. The texture of the tofu was firm on the outside and still soft inside while the veggies were subtle and juicy. This is why, meat is often unecessary. (I’ve really noticed a decrease in meat consumption since I started this blog, and it has saved me quite a bit of money!)

Wine Glass Parfait

parfait in a wine glass

For a snack, a crazy parfait layered with blueberry yogurt, frozen peaches, Kashi Honey Sunshine Cereal, Honey Bunches of Oats, and splashed with vanilla soy milk.

***

Southern-esque Seafood Gumbo

For some reason, Nick wanted to make me the seafood Gumbo he saw Alton Brown make on Good Eats last week. How do you turn down such a sweet offer??

So I decided to contribute my fresh baked cornbread to the dinner to make it “authentic”!

You can get my cornbread recipe here and Nick’s seafood gumbo recipe here. BOTH absolutely good for you!๐Ÿ™‚

gumbo stew dinner with cornbread and salad

Nothing like fresh baked cornbread! I modified my recipe by adding some canned corn and used a full egg instead of egg whites.

Fresh baked cornbread

For an appetizer, a slice of cornbread with a bowl of gumbo. SO SO SO GOOD! You can see all the seafood in the soup…yum!

Nick's seafood gumbo with cornbread

And for my entree, another slice of cornbread with gumbo over salad!! No dressing needed. MAN….if I could eat this every day…

cornbread and gumbo over salad

I DROWNED my salad in gumbo after this picture because it was THAT good. The two of us literally finished the entire pot…scary…that’s 12oz of crab and tonnes of shrimp.

Chip-less Mint Ice-Cream?

Last but not least, dessert was a cool off with mint Haagen Dazs ice-cream. This guy is from the FIVE line, where the ice-cream itself is made entirely out of 5 ingredients, no scary things you can’t pronounce, just your good old skim milk, cream, sugar, egg yolks, and mint extract.

Haagen Dazs mint five ice-cream

Flavor: WOW. Think exactly: mint chip ice-cream without the chips. It was light, refreshing, and rich. NOT at all like eating your toothpaste.๐Ÿ˜›

Overall: I might buy this again…I was shocked that I didn’t even miss the chocolate chips since it reminded me so much of it. Sadly, the ice-cream isn’t exactly sinless and why isn’t there real mint? Why mint extract?

***

So, I want a vacation…soooon!! See you in San Fran?๐Ÿ™‚

BONUS question: Do you guys prefer links to recipes/product sites, or would you rather I just list everything – like recipes, ingredients, nutrition stats, etc – on the post itself? (*warning* The post gets LOOOOONG)