Oh how I love company promotions….Like when they hand out free bars like it’s Halloween candy (kinda stingy without trying to come off as uptight) at Navy Pier.

soyjoyAccording to the company, “Every SOYJOY® bar begins with high-quality, non-genetically modified whole soybeans. Unlike other soy products that use highly processed soy protein isolates, the whole soy ground into every SOYJOY® bar keeps the rich fiber and heart-healthy soy nutrients intact.”

Most of you guys already know all the health benefits of Soy, so I’m going to skip the talk and instead offer the link to their site so you can get a good read on what their dietitians say about Soy & Soy Joy’s.

Michelle says, Contrary to many negative reviews, my experience with Soy Joy hasn’t been terrible at all. My HUGEST complaint is – the dryness of the bar and the greasy aftertaste it leaves on your tongue (depending on what flavor you get) – but some may enjoy this grease-factor as a fragrant buttery flavor, so just keep that in mind!

Here’s what I have to say about the flavors I’ve tried!

***

Strawberry

Stats:130 calories, 5g fat (2.5g saturated), 45mg sodium, 17g Carbs, 3g Fiber, 11g Sugar, 4g Protein

Ingredients: Whole Soybean Powder, Raisin, Sugar, Butter (from milk), Egg, Maltodextrin (natural fiber source), Dried Coconut, Dried Strawberry, Dried Pineapple, Milk Chocolate Chips (sugar, whole milk powder, cocoa butter, chocolate liquor [with alkali], dextrose, butter oil, soy lecithin, vanilla extract, salt), Dried Cranberry, Salt, Natural Flavors, Fermented Milk Powder

soyjoy_anglePicture Source: Bakers World

Flavor: I really enjoyed the berry flavor in the bar, which wasn’t sour like some bars can be, and JUST sweet enough. There were a ton of raisins and super shredded pieces of strawberry and coconut. I definitely didn’t taste the milk chocolate, cocoa butter, or chocolate liquor in there, but I suspect those ingredients are the “secret sauce” to balancing out the tartness of the fruits.

Texture: A good balance of chewy and crumbly at the same time, which I find really pleasant. I didn’t notice any extra texture from the addition of the chocolate chips because they were grinded up so small, but I did notice the really lightly gritty coconut flakes. The bar didn’t taste as dry as it looked (maybe just a tad) but overall has a nice bite to it thanks to all the pieces of raisins lodged throughout the bar.

Overall: It was tasty, fruity, sweet, and a great snack! It tastes like a dry raisin cookie with a special flavor I can’t put my finger on (thank you chocolate liquor)! I did feel kinda ripped off when I saw that strawberry was the 8th ingredient on the list though!!

***

Mango Coconut

Stats: 140 Calories, 6g fat, (3.5g saturated fat), 45mg Sodium, 16g Carbs, 3g Fiber, 11g Sugar, 4g Protein

Ingredients: Whole soybean powder, Raisin, Butter (from milk), Sugar, Dried Coconut, Eggs, Maltodextrin (natural fiber), Dried papaya, Dried Mango, Dried Pineapple, Salt, Natural Flavors.

mango coconut soyjoyPicture credit: Spark People

Flavor: Although I liked the flavor of the bar and appreciate the fact that it isn’t overly sweet (like Clif bars), it was just OK for me. There was a little bit of a buttery after-taste (though I don’t get why it was so dry!) and had that mild, tropical flavor from the dried bits of papaya, mango, and pineapple. I was definitely not blown away with mango flavor, nor did I taste much coconut at all, but I really don’t like the gritty texture that too coconut flake can give a bar, so it balances out.

Texture: REALLY dry. Crumbly on the outside and chewy as soon as you bite into a dried piece of fruit – mainly raisins. The general consistency of the bar is a little gritty and crisp from the fine flakes of dried coconut lodged evenly throughout the whole bar.

Overall: A good balance of flavor, not too sweet, slightly buttery, but really dry! It was a great snack on the go at 140 calories, but this teeny thing doesn’t look like it has 6g of fat in it, considering how much moisture it was lacking.

***

Peanut Chocolate Chip

Ingredients: Whole Soybean Powder, Raisin, Butter (from milk), Sugar, Peanuts, Egg, Milk Chocolate Chips (sugar, whole milk powder, cocoa butter, chocolate liquor (with alkali), dextrose, butter oil, soy lecithin, vanilla extract, salt), Dried Pineapple, Maltodextrin (natural fiber source), Natural Flavors, Salt, Parmesan Cheese (from skim milk)

peanut soy joy

Flavor: Lightly sweet, with a clean peanut flavor and occasional burst of cocoa-ness from the random chocolate chip. It’s not your traditional indulgent tasting peanut/chocolate bar because of it is definitely a tad bit fruity, but it’s refreshing to me! Not heavy.

Texture: Much drier and crumblier than most other bars I’ve ever had with occasional crunch from the small pieces of peanut and chips scattered throughout the SoyJoy. There are mini pieces of dried pineapple that offer a nice, slightly chewy texture.

Overall: You know what, I like this bar!  It isn’t too sweet, it’s nutty, flavorful, and though a little dry, tasty. I find that last ingredient (parmesan cheese) kinda off-putting though.