I’m BIG on food that helps your digestive track without making one too gassy.

Ever since I was a baby, my intestines have been known to wreak havoc on me simply by being SLOW to process everything. I remember my acupuncturist telling me that my digestive track is slow and that I should stay away from overeating protein because that can stall movements in the digestive track. So I’ve spent a big chunk of my life looking for foods to help me be…essentially, be more regular.

  • Fiber One, though full of fiber makes my stomach bloat like crazy (think it might be because I usually do 3 servings in 1 go?)
  • Beans somehow have no effect on me.
  • Fiber Supplements have failed me. And they’re expensive!!

The only things that have helped a bit, are yogurt, cardio exercise, and an INSANE amount of vegetables. (seriously, insane.)

Unfortunately, frozen yogurt doesn’t help. My recent trip to Red Mango satisfied my taste buds though. Check out the limited edition Pumpkin Spice froyo with graham cracker crumbles!!

Red mango pumpkin pie froyoTastiness: 7/10. This didn’t have half as much pumpkin flavor as I was wishing for. However, I was getting bored of the flavors I usually get from Red Mango, so this was a good change. The texture was just as creamy and indulgent as all its other flavors, plus it also helped that the graham cracker topping was FREE (and they give A LOT of it)!😛

Sorry for the minor distraction. Now back to regularity…

After a recent visit to another acupuncturist, she advised me to incorporate flax seeds into my diet. Since I don’t really see myself spooning flax daily, I embarked on a journey to find flaxseed products that are high in flax and tasty! What are your best tips for regularity?

***

Kathy’s Krackers

Kathy makes hearty, raw flaxseed crackers. Check out the website here.

Highlights:

  • Raw (Crackers are made via low temperature dehydration to preserve enzymes and flavor)
  • Gluten-free, vegan, vegetarian (Made with seeds, real fresh fruits and vegetables ONLY!)
  • Beauty benefits! Flax seeds have been shown to: alleviate symptoms of PMS and menopause (by rebalancing protaglandins); Increases cold-weather resistance; Strengthens the immune system; Provides smoother skin and shiny hair.
  • Created by a real lady named Kathy Nelson, who started her own company after seeing what a huge hit her homemade crackers were at her vegetarian restaurant in Utah!

3 Flavors: Salsa, Savory, Apple cinnamon

Michelle’s Overall Take: I am in awe of how delicious the salsa & savory flavored crackers are, though I’m not a fan of the apple cinnamon. Not only are they made with truly raw, nutritionally powerful, fresh ingredients, they really do taste great. There is SO much flavor in the salsa and savory cracker that I eat it plain – no dips or condiments necessary! The best part is that you can feel wonderful after eating these crackers: they are filling, high in protein and fiber, fresh, crunchy, and SO yummy! They are definitely better than Mary’s Gone Crackers. (Sorry Mary) BUT they carry a hefty $6.49 price tag per bag.

Flax seeds also…alleviate symptoms of PMS and menopause (by rebalancing protaglandins), Increases cold-weather resistance, Strengthens the immune system, Provides smoother skin and shiny hair.

Salsa

Stats per 1oz cracker (4x 3″ X 6″ crackers per bag): 116 Calories, 9g fat (1g saturated, 5g polyunsaturated, 2g monosaturated), 96mg sodium, 9g carbs, 6g fiber, 2g sugar, 5g protein

Ingredients: Golden and brown flax seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Pumpkin Seeds, Sesame Seeds, Tomatoes, Peppers, Garlic, Sea Salt, Cumin, and Oregano. Kathy's Crackers salsa

Tastiness: 9/10. These crackers were my favorite! Even though they arrived mostly cracked, they actually were about 4 layers thick of seeds, seeds, and seeds!! The whole cracker is entirely composed of seeds and dehydrated vegetable pieces that serve to hold the seeds together so they do get crumbly. Every bite is super crunchy, nutty, smoky, and SPICY! You can save your money on dip, this cracker has plenty of flavors on its own! The flavor reminds me of chipotle salsa all stuffed into a flax biscuit.

Savory

Stats per 1oz cracker: 117 Cal, 8g Fat (Poly 5g, Mono 2g, Sat 1g), Cholesterol 0g, Sodium 87mg, Potassium 287mg, Carbs 9g, Fiber 5g, Sugar 2g, Protein 5g.
Ingredients: Golden and Brown Flax Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Pumpkin Seeds, Sesame Seeds, Tomatoes, Peppers, Garlic, Vegetable Protein from Soy Beans, Purified Water, and Parsley.

Kathy's Kracker's Savory

Tastiness: 8/10. This reminded me of the salsa flavor, except not spicy and actually had a wonderful sweetness to it that I suspect is from the peppers and tomatoes. I love that it is herby and aromatic as it would go extremely well with a hearty soup! Like all the other crackers, this is a mix between crunchy and crumbly, but definitely fresh and satisfying all the way!

Apple Cinnamon

Stats per 1oz cracker: 125 Cal, Total Fat 8g (5g Poly, 2g Mono, 1g Sat), Cholesterol 0g, Sodium 94mg, Potassium 178mg, Carbs 12g, Fiber 9g, Sugar 4g, Protein 4g.

Ingredients: Golden and Brown Flax Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Pumpkin Seeds, Sesame Seeds, Apples, Cinnamon, Sea Salt, and Stevia.

Kathy's Krackers apple cinnamon

Tastiness: 6/10. I think I was just incredibly disappointed because I didn’t get much cinnamon or much apple flavor. I was more expecting something more sweet and much more fruity. This cracker has a very neutral, earthy, nutty flavor with just a tiny tad of sweetness. It was the thickest of all 3 flavors with about 5-6 layers of seeds, and it packed a big satisfying crunch. This cracker would pair well with jam, nut butters, and even salsa. Overall I wouldn’t buy this bag over the other 2 flavors.

Retail price: $6.49 per bag

My Price: Free (from manufacturer)

Buy: Online at Kathy’s Krackers

***

Another product that I’ve sampled recently is the my talked about

Nutridel Flaxseed Cookie

Does ANYONE know how to bake these things at home?!??! (If you share a recipe, I will be eternally grateful!!)

Nutridel Flaxseed cookie

Michelle’s Overall Take: Just don’t think of these as regular chewy, greasy cookies and you will be impressed with how delicious this cookie is. Think of it as a dessert cracker that though a little dry by itself, but absolutely wonderful paired with something with some moisture. I’ve only gotten to sample one flavor, but I’ve heard flax is best AND I can’t testify to whether the other 4 flavors are. Boo, I know.

I would buy this flavor in the stores…but only if I couldn’t find a recipe to bake one on my own.😛

Michelle’s Flaxseed Cookie ParfaitNutridel Flaxseed cookie parfait

Stats per cookie (2 per bag): 57 calories, 0.7g fat, 0.5mg sodium, 12g carbs, 3g fiber, 4g sugar, 3g protein

Ingredients: oats, whole wheat flour, flaxseed, wheat bran, amaranth, molasses, sunflower oil and ground cinnamon

Flavor and Texture: No doubt that I love this ultra-crunchy nutty-flavored “oatmeal” cookie, which reminds me of a sweet flatbread now that I think about it. The flat cookie breaks apart like a cracker, yet it grainier and of course, sweet! With each bite, you can taste the oats and a gentle after-taste left by chewing into the flax seeds, which are speckled throughout the cookie. By itself, it can be a little dry, but crumbled on top of yogurt parfaits, it’s a match made in heaven. I

Nutridel Parfait

Overall: 8.5/10. I love the versatility of this flat cookie. It can be a great dessert or snack on its own, and it can be eaten with yogurt or made into an ice-cream sandwich! Don’t expect chewiness or richness from a buttery cookie, instead, expect something that looks and sounds healthy, but tastes absolutely indulgent!

Retail Price: ~$2.50 per packet

My Price: Free from Nutridel

Buy from: Select West Coast coffee shops & the Nutridel website

Thanks for reading everyone! Don’t forget to share your cookie recipe if you have one, but if not, definitely share your healthy digestive track tips!