I LOVE roasted butternut squash fries. I could eat them every day, at every meal, for every day of my life and not ever get bored of them.

For the record, I got Nick Hooked on ’em! So hooked he’ll endure the arduous task of hacking them into little pieces so they resemble fries.🙂 Thanks Nick!

So I KNEW I had to try THIS soup (I know, it’s been around for forever)!! For some reason, while I’ve seen it around the blogosphere, very few reviews have been posted on ’em. So I figured…why not?

Pacific organic butternut squash soupYes, I realize that is a pumpkin and not squash, but I like my pictures festive! You’ll also see what I do to parts of that pumpkin in this post!

I wanted to review the soup pure and without add-ins. So here it was (see how creamy?) served with a Kathy’s Kracker (apple cinnamon).

Pacific butternut squash soup with kathy's kracker

Are you ready for this?

Tastiness: 5/10. I had such high hopes for this soup but fell from the clouds and flat on my face as soon as I had the first sip. Am I crazy or is there no butternut squash flavor in the soup. It’s edible at best.

The pros: slightly sweet and has a great creamy texture; The Cons: but I cannot get over the off-putting musty aftertaste and lack of BNS flavor. If I was blindfolded, I would have no idea what this soup was supposed to be.

Verdict: Yes it’s convenient and so easy to just heat up. It’s smooth, filling and not bad tasting, but I would personally advise NOT to get this (ever!)  if you are a diehard butternut squash fan.

Moving on…to recover from the BNS disasters, I knew that

PUMPKIN never disappoints!!!

Remember how I was warned not to buy pumpkin butter at Trader Joe’s by Ms. Bender herself that night we went to dinner?

Well, I was CRAVING me some pumpkin butter, so I decided to make my own!!!

Homemade Pumpkin Butter on Toast!

homemade pumpkin butter on toast

Michelle’s Microwave Pumpkin Butter

I ain’t buying a jar of Pumpkin butter if I can make it on my own in literally 5 minutes.

You’ll need:

  • ½ cup pumpkin
  • ½ cup apple sauce or apple juice (If you want your pumpkin butter a little chunky, apple sauce is good)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • A few drops liquid stevia to taste or 1/3 Tsp Pure White Stevia Extract

Pumpkin butter ingredients

To do:

Mix everything together in a microwave safe dish.

Zap in microwave for 2 minutes/ Remove and stir.

Zap again for another 2 minutes.

Serve!

pumpkin butter ingredients mixed

Obviously, this is pre-microwave. Just wanted to show you how everything looks before stirring. So simple there’s no excuse not to make it fresh at home!!

***

If you have a fresh pumpkin, you gotta ROAST the SEEDS!

If you don’t, I will have to ask you to kindly mail them to me so I can make them for you. No kidding.

I wish they sold roasted pumpkin seeds on the streets…like Hong Kong street vendors and their roasted chestnuts or roasted purple yams. *nom*

Roasted pumpkin seeds

Kickin’ Honey Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

You need 3 ingredients:

  • Seasoning of some sort (I used Weber’s Grill Kickin’ chicken, which is SPICY!)
  • Honey, just to evenly coat seeds
  • Pumpkin Seeds, cleaned well and relatively dry

Simply toss the seeds with seasoning. Roast at 230 degrees in the oven for 1 hour. Remove from oven and drizzle honey over the top. Toss. Enjoy!

Pumpkin seed seasonings

I heart pumpkin seeds.

Random fact: Did you know Asian people eat soy sauce roasted pumpkin seeds, but we always shell them and eat the flesh INSIDE?? I had NO idea you could eat the “shell” until I moved to America!!🙂

So…

Moral of this post:

1. Packaged goods are not necessarily delicious to you just because it has great packaging and a natural, healthy ingredient list. Personal taste differs.

2. Therefore, it is much more cost effective and taste bud satisfying to make your own goodies at home. Using ingredients, spices, and herbs that YOU like!

3. You should visit Asia with me sometime so we can eat roasted chestnuts, yams, and pumpkin seeds.🙂

Have you ever been disappointed by a sly, beautifully packaged product??