When I saw these home-baked TLC Crackers on Kristen’s (awesome) blog, I KNEW I had to give them a go. While TLC crackers can be oh-so-delicious, they can become an expensive habit.

While the ingredient list for the real Kashi cracker is…extensive, this recipe only contains only 5 (or 6 if you add sesame seeds). It is really easy to make, you can cut them into any shapes you want, and you can switch up the cracker flavor according to your likings! Here is an adapted recipe from Kristen at Flexy Fare. THANK YOU for such a fantastic recipe, this is definitely a keeper.

Without further ado…

Bootleg Kashi Sesame Almond TLC Cracker

Adapted from Flexy Fare

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3.5 tbsp oil (I used vegetable oil)
  • 1.5 tbsp agave or sugar (I used Wholesome Sweeteners blue agave)
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 6 tbsp vanilla almond milk (soy, almond, rice, even yogurt is supposed to work)
  • Sesame seeds* (optional)

1) Mix all ingredients into a dough that is tacky and shiny.

2) Knead dough for 3 mins. Let dough rest for 20 minutes in a bowl, covered with a cloth or towel.

3) Roll dough very thin (~1/2 inch thick) on a lightly floured surface and cut into cracker shapes. Lay crackers on baking tray making sure they don’t overlap.

4) Bake for ~25 minutes at 300 or until your crackers achieve appropriate browning. Then lower temperature to 180 and bake for another 10 minutes if you like your crackers ultra crispy.

My Review: My crackers were seriously on par with kashi’s cracker flavors. The addition of the sesame seeds enhanced the flavors, but I would say that I would add a 2nd grain into the cracker to bump up nuttiness next time. The crackers were a tad more sweet than they were salty, but that’s how I like my crackers. When I rolled out my dough, the sides were thinner than the middle, but I loved how light and crispy the texture came out while the middles pieces were heartier and crunchier. No more buying Kashi crackers for me! Wooo!!

My secret (ingredient) weapons? (Ready for 2 product reviews?!)

1) Silk Vanilla Almond Milk – Silk has their own line of almond milk now and it’s on sale at Safeway till April!

Flavor: B+. Silk almond milk is super thick and creamy, unlike any other almond milk I have ever had. The vanilla flavor is obvious, but not as natural tasting as I hoped for. Both Nick and I agree that this is REALLY sweet, much like all the other sweetened brands of almond milk. For 90 calories a cup, I think this is a creamier substitute to the Blue Diamond brand, but both are just as sweet. Go for unsweetened versions for less calories and sugar.

2) Wholesome Sweeteners Blue Organic Agave – Wholesome sweeteners has a giant line of natural sweeteners from honey, to raw agave, to organic turbinado sugar. They are one awesome company (based in Chicago now!) with healthy, affordable products.

From the WS website: “Wholesome Sweeteners Organic Blue Agave is a natural sweetener extracted from the core of the Blue Agave plant.

  • Sweet, mild nectar is 25% sweeter than sugar (so more is less!)
  • A perfect multi-purpose sweetener for beverages, fresh fruit and general table-top use
  • Glycemic index of 39 or less; Natural sweetness without the blood sugar spike
  • Blue Agave is non-crystallizing and quick dissolving
  • Blue Agave has a bright sweetness that quickly dissipates. Perfect in baked goods, fresh fruit and smoothies, salad dressings and savory sauces.

Agave Cooking tips:

  • Use as a one-for-one replacement for sugar, then adjust to your own personal taste. (Some chefs prefer to use 75% as much Blue Agave nectar as they would sugar in a recipe, but others prefer a straight 1:1 replacement.)
  • Reduce the other liquids in a recipe by up to 30%.

Cook lower and slower: reduce your baking temperature by about 25 degrees and bake for a little longer.”

*Disclaimer* Wholesome Sweeteners provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it or give is a positive review.

Check out this giveaway awesome giveaway at Lil Veggie Patch!! And another one here at Leslie Loves Veggies! And Missy’s gift card giveaway!

What’s your favorite cracker?