I used to hate eggs. Especially over-cooked sunny-side ups with a dry cakey yolk and sitting in a little pool of grease. I also hated hard-boiled egg yolks because I always gagged on them. I especially hate the yolks inside moon cake because WHO PUTS a salty egg yolk in a sweet pastry?????? That’s just Nasty. I like my mooncakes plain. Without the yolk.

Super short tutorial– Eating mooncakes during the Mooncake Festival is a Chinese tradition in September that has a romantic story behind it.  These cakes are mainly made up of a white lotus seed paste (very sweet and very tasty) holding the egg yolk at the center of the pastry. It is complicated to make and really quite artistic.

moon_cake

Each of these buggers can contain up to over 1000+ calories thanks to the high amount of lard used to create it. Modern Asia has created mooncakes with 4 yolks now because so many people love how it tastes. They have also created ice-cream versions of this that are really quite delish!

ANYWAYS, I have come to a new appreciation for 2 kinds of eggs, with poached eggs being one of them. Correction, 3 kinds of eggs – the most important one being the ones in my ovaries. The third kind of egg is “lu dan” (like…the ones I made for Chinese New Year). Simple hard boiled eggs that marinate/cook in a pot overnight with some soy sauce, cloves, star anise, 5 spice and a bunch of other herbs. So guess what I’ve been eating for lunch these days?

imported-photos-00087Yeaaaaaaaah….That’s 4 eggs right there. But don’t worry I only had 1.5 yolks because I don’t want to be on lipitor for the rest of my life. And yes, it is normal for the egg whites to be “egg browns.”

imported-photos-00047

Here’s the rest of  lunch. Half a bottle of pickles (heheheheh because they’re quite addictive), probably 3 cups of chicken cabbage noodle soup, 1 handfull of pretzel sticks, and THE 4 eggs). imported-photos-00088

But what is a meal without dessert???  I made myself some hot chocolate along with one of these buggers. An Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt that I got “on sale” at Whole Foods for $0.98 thanks to my highly advanced coupon clipping skills.imported-photos-00081

My verdict of this product was..umm OKAY. I like that it ‘s SO THICK, but it is also SO BLAND for a vanilla flavored yogurt!!! *sigh* I think I will return to plain yogurt and squirt honey on top the next time around. If you can’t tell, I was kinda disappointed. 😦 But at least 10% of it is free!

imported-photos-00070I love hot chocolate after a meal (especially if my tummy feels cold) to get my chocolate AND dessert fix all at once! I used to only drink the Nestle diet hot chocolate (only 25 calories a pack! wooow) but this one is from Swiss Miss, which I find CLUMPS UP a lot more. I hate finding globs at the bottom of my mug. However I’ve learned that if you stir vigorously enough and for long enough, the clumps do tend to disappear!

Anyways, I hope everyone has a fabulous weekend! I’m heading to Adobo Grill for dinner tonight with Nick and then a birthday party for my friend Ed.

Yay!!! Happy Friday guys!!Well, I heart you’re still reading up to this point, but I’ll heart you even more if you leave me suggestions on what I can get my boyfriend (of almost 2 years) for Valentine’s day!???!! ANY suggestions are highly welcomed!! (P.s. Electric toothbrush?)